Skip to content Skip to main navigation

University of Toronto Baroque String and Vocal Ensembles

Tuesday, April 8, 2008, 12pm

Featuring the University of Toronto Baroque Strings & Vocal Ensembles

Ivars Taurins, Director

The University of Toronto Baroque Strings & Vocal Ensembles are part of a practical course that focuses on the study and performance of 17th- and 18th-century vocal and orchestral string repertoire from an historically aware perspective. Matters of style, dance forms, techniques, ornamentation, and intonation systems are explored and applied to a variety of music for voices and strings. The introduction of and reading from 17th & 18th c. editions and manuscripts are also explored. The objective is to bring new life to music of the baroque period through the appreciation of historically-informed performance as the key to understanding the musical languages of different ages.

Sopranos: Dawn Bailey, Nicole Bower, Justine Butkovitch, Jocelyn Howard, Aleysia Whitmore, Ilana Zarankin
Altos: Aviva Fortunata Wilks, Tamara Vaughan
Tenor: Avalon Rusk
Bass: Miladin Danailov
Violins: Sarah Davidson-Gurney, Madeline Kapp, Jane Levitt, Markus Medri, Natasha Rollings, Elena Spanu
Violas: Jane Levitt, John Ng
Cellos: Anthony Bacon, Claire Burrows
Bass: Alex Kotyk
Harpsichord/Organ: Sara-Anne Churchill, Marie Gummer


Francesco Geminiani (c.1680 – 1762): Concerto grosso op. 3, no. 2 in g minor
Largo e staccato – Allegro – Adagio – Allegro

Claudio Monteverdi (1567 – 1643): “Zefiro torna” (‘ciacona’) from Scherzi musicali, Venice 1632

Jean-Baptiste Lully (1632 – 1687): Ouverture and 2d air pour les Egyptiens from Phaeton

Luigi Rossi (1597 – 1653): Amanti à giocare

George Frideric Handel (1685 – 1759): Quel fior che all’alba ride, HWV 192,

G. F. Handel: “De torrente in via” from Dixit Dominus, HWV 232

Pietro Locatelli (1695 – 1764): Concerto grosso in D Major, op. 1, no. 5
(1st & 2nd movt’s)
Largo – Allegro

Luca Marenzio (c.1553 – 1599): Dagli occhi il dolce giro

John Dowland (1563 – 1626): Nos 1, 3 & 4 of the Lachrimae (“Seaven Teares”)
Lachrimae AntiquaeLachrimae Antiquae NovaeLachrimae Tristes

Barbara Strozzi (1619 – 1677): Sospira, respira

G.F. Handel: Cantata for 2 sopranos and continuo, Nò, di voi non vo’ fidarmi HWV 189

C. Monteverdi: “Ch’io t’ami” from Quinto libro dei madrigali, 1605

G. F. Handel: Concerto grosso op. 6, no. 4 in a minor
Larghetto e affettuoso – Allegro – Largo e piano – Allegro


University of Toronto Art Centre

"Concert: Faculty of Music"

Program Archive

Feature Past Programs