Skip to content Skip to main navigation

BMO 1st ART! 2021

Anna Kuelken

Works by

Holly Aubichon, Tayer Buss, Juliet Di Carlo, Erin Faulks, Allysha Jacque, Kev Liang, Bethany MacKenzie, Maggy Hamel-Metsos, Alana Morouney, shannon pahladsingh, Donald Price, Max TS. Yang

BMO 1st ART! 2021

November 16–December 8, 2021

Curated by Dawn Cain

Celebrating Canada’s New Artists

This virtual exhibition showcases the winning submissions of the 19th annual BMO 1st ART! competition. The thirteen artists featured are recent graduates of postsecondary art programs from every province and territory who have been honoured for their talent and exceptional accomplishments. Their inspiring works provide a glimpse into the remarkable range of media and expression being explored by today’s undergrads. They also represent the promise and excitement of Canada’s newest generation of artists.

National Winner
Anna Kuelken (NSCAD University)

Kev Liang (University of Alberta)
shannon pahladsingh (University of the Fraser Valley)
Tayler Buss (University of Manitoba)
Alana Morouney (Mount Allison University)
Bethany MacKenzie (Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
Max TS. Yang (NSCAD University)
Erin Faulks (Nunavut Arctic College)
Allysha Jacque (York University)
Donald Price (Holland College)
Maggy Hamel-Metsos (Concordia University)
Holly Aubichon (University of Regina)
Juliet Di Carlo (Yukon School of Visual Arts)

Explore the winning works by clicking on the images.

For more information, please visit


Upcoming Exhibitions