Skip to content Skip to main navigation

BMO 1st ART! 2022

a group of wooden and woven figures are suspended in the air through coloured chords.

Works by

Shizuka Yoshimura, Kaela Murphy, Ali Cayetano, Solange Roy, Oakley Rain Wysote Gray, Georgia Dawkin, Ivan Flores, Collin Alexander, Chris Bailey, Avery Mikolic-O’Rourke, Aurora Wolfe, and Sabrina Jin.

BMO 1st ART! 2022

October 26–November 19, 2022

Curated by Dawn Cain

Justina M. Barnicke Gallery

Celebrating Canada’s New Artists

This exhibition showcases the winning submissions of the 20th annual BMO 1st Art! competition. The twelve artists featured are recent graduates of postsecondary art programs from every province and territory who have been honoured for their talent and exceptional accomplishments. Their inspiring works provide a glimpse into the remarkable range of media and expression being explored by today’s undergrads. They also represent the promise and excitement of Canada’s newest generation of artists.

National Winner
Shizuka Yoshimura (Yukon School of Visual Arts)

Kaela Murphy (University of Alberta)
Ali Cayetano (University of British Columbia)
Solange Roy (University of Manitoba)
Oakley Rain Wysote Gray (New Brunswick College of Craft & Design)
Georgia Dawkin (Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland)
Ivan Flores (NSCAD University)
Collin Alexander (University of Toronto)
Chris Bailey (Holland College)
Avery Mikolic-O’Rourke (Concordia University)
Aurora Wolfe (University of Saskatchewan )
Sabrina Jin (Yukon School of Visual Arts)

Explore the winning works by clicking on the images.

For more information, please visit

Virtual Spotlight

View the winning artists’ interviews here.


Upcoming Exhibitions